A #HookReview of The Dragon Thief, by Justin Depaoli

“The creepy vibe of a mausoleum was a great opener, and reiterates the promise of the cover and blurb – secrets from the past revealed.”

The Dragon Thief caught my eye because of the name. Someone stealing dragons? Or is a dragon stealing? The cover looked great, even though I don’t usually go for the drab colored ones. I almost didn’t make it through the blurb, but then the last sentence hit me.

“Sorcery has returned, and dragons are coming.”

Ooooh. Dragons. I opened the preview to a map of the continent. Looks like it was done with Campaign Cartographer – I dug it. I use CC3 myself. First paragraph was a little confusing, and the first sentence a bit long-winded. But, that could be because the author has an outstanding vocabulary and I skim these. The creepy vibe of a mausoleum was a great opener, and reiterates┬áthe promise of the cover and blurb – secrets from the past revealed. Now I understand┬áthe gray cover.

It’s a “probably not” for me, but mainly because I don’t dig very young protagonists. (He’s 11) Check it out for yourself, and let me know what you think.

 

What is a #HookReview?

  • It’s me looking for a book to read each week. I’ve decided to document the filtering process as it happens for me and allow people to help me choose.

  • I choose my favorites and ask visitors to vote on which one I read. The poll will be in a pinned post, and runs Monday morning to Sunday morning (EST). The review for the winners of those polls will be reviewed on Fridays.

Author: CJPerry

Stay at home parent of 2 girls, 4 and 16. Struggling writer. Thats me.

Leave a Reply

